photo photo photo
Using this site means you agree to its terms
Home spacer Hindu Gods spacer Hindu Way of Life spacer Slokas and Mantras spacer Astrology spacer Vaastu Saastra spacer Thirumantram spacer Hindu Temples

Slokas and Mantras

MarkspacerHow does Mantra Work ?

MarkspacerHow to do Mantra Japa ?

MarkspacerGayatri Mantra

MarkspacerSakam Gayatri

MarkspacerMantras from the Veda

MarkspacerHymns from the Veda

MarkspacersarvaDevata prayer

MarkspacerManthra Pushpam

MarkspacerMantras FAQ?

MarkspacerSignificance of 108?

Ganapathi Mantras

MarkspacerSpecial Mantras

MarkspacerPrayer Slokas

Markspacer108 Namavali

MarkspacerGanesa Panjarathnam

MarkspacerSiddhivinaayaka Stotram

Siva Mantras


MarkspacerMula Mantra

Markspacer108 Namavali

MarkspacerMaha Mrithungjaya Mantra

MarkspacerRudram & Chamakam

MarkspacerShivandha Lahari





Devi Mantras


MarkspacerMula Mantra

Markspacer108 Namavali

MarkspacerRajarajeswari Ashtothram

MarkspacerDurga Suktham

MarkspacerSaundarya Lahari

MarkspacerLalita Sahasranamam

MarkspacerMahishasura Mardini

MarkspacerAbirami Andhaathi

Skanda Mantras


MarkspacerMula Mantra

Markspacer108 Namavali

MarkspacerSaravana Maamantra

Vishnu Manras

MarkspacerVishnu Gayatri

MarkspacerRama Gayatri

MarkspacerKrishna Gayatri

MarkspacerVenkatesa Gayatri

MarkspacerSudarsana Gayatri

MarkspacerVishnu Mantras

MarkspacerRama Mantras

MarkspacerKrishna Mantras

MarkspacerVenkatesa Mantras

MarkspacerRama 108 Namavali

MarkspacerVenkatesa Suprabhaatam

MarkspacerVishhnu Sahasranamam

MarkspacerPurusha Sooktham

MarkspacerBhaja Govindam

MarkspacerVenkatesa Stotram

MarkspacerSudarshana Ashhtakam

MarkspacerNarasimha 108 Namavali


Markspacer Sathyanarayana Ashtothram

MarkspacerDhanvanthri Mantra

Mahalakshmi Mantras


MarkspacerMula Mantra

Markspacer108 Namavali

MarkspacerLaksmi Ashtakam

MarkspacerKubera Mantra

MarkspacerTulasi Ashtotram

MarkspacerKanakadhara Stotra

Saraswathi Mantras


MarkspacerMula Mantra

Markspacer108 Namavali

More Mantras

Markspacer AAditya Hridaya Stotram

Markspacer sUryamaNDal AshhTakam

Markspacer Sri Aadhithya Ashtakam

Markspacer aShTottarashatanaamavaliH

Markspacer suvarNamAlAstutiH

Markspacer saamaanyopanishhat

Markspacer Navagraha Stotram

MarkspacerSantoshi Matha



MarkspacerVaastu Purush


Specific Mantras

MarkspacerEasy Delivery

MarkspacerBlessings for a child

MarkspacerMantras for All Purpose

All the contents of our portal are based upon the Vedic guidance rendered by the great sages, scholars and learned authors through sastras, satsangs, literature, books and advices. However the practice of the same is to done by the individuals as per their own best judgment. We do not guarantee or assure the correctness of the contents by the scale of the so called modern science.

Contact the editor rishi for further details.


Thiru Mantiram Temples India Hindu Gods Discover India Hindu Panchang


Prayer Slokas on Sri Siva

Brahma Muraari Suraarchitha Lingam
Nirmala Baashitha So'bhitha Lingam |
Janmaja Dh:ukkha Vinaasaka Lingam
Thath Pranamaami Sadhaasiva Lingam ||

Dhe'vamuni Parvaraarchitha Lingam
Kaama dhahana Karunaakara Lingam |
Raavana Tharpa Vinaachana Lingam
Thath Pranamaami Sadhaasiva Lingam ||

A lingam can be movable " Chalam" or unmovable " Achalam" or both movable and unmovable "Chalachalam". A lingam is a combination of a stem portion, which is the "Lingam" and a base or peetam called a "yoni". Of the stem 1/3 it's length is square, the second 1/3 is eight sides and the rest cylindrical. The square portion corresponds to "Brahma" the creative aspect of the absolute. The eight-sided figure corresponds to "Vishnu" the protective aspect of God and the cylindrical portion; the dissolution aspect of God corresponds to "Rudra". A combination of these is what is called a Shivalinga.

The Yoni peetam will consist of a circular lower and middle portion and a leaf shaped upper portion, into which the stem is erected. The Brahma portion lies in the ground. The Vishnu portion the yoni peetam and the Rudra portion above the peetam. In the Rudra portion a lotus bud formation with 3 lines is embossed and it forms the face. This is known as a Kriya_lingam and corresponds to a sculpted lingam. This has to be installed in temple; this is there for classed as an Achalaingam.

A naturally formed lingam or Swayambu lingam also falls under this category. Crystal, or ruby, or stone, rice, cooked rice, river sand, cow dung, butter, sandalwood paste, Rudraksham, flowers, Kusa grass, jaggery and flour can be worshiped and after worship, removed. These are known as "Kshanika" lingams. No proportions of size are requiring for these lingams.

Lingams made of metals such as gold, silver, copper, bronze, brass, lead, etc are known as "Lohaya" lingams. If they are of sandalwood, Ashoka, Devadharu, Ebony, Bilva etc the are known as "Tharuya" lingams.

Stone lingams are the suitable ones for temple worship.

They can be classed as

1. Swayambulingam

2. Daivatham

3. Ghanapam

4. Aasuram

5. Suram

6. Aarusham

7. Maanusham

8. Rakshasam

9. Bhaanam.

A Bhaanalingam is what is installed at the Sri Rajarajeswari peetam in RUSH New York. It is oblong cylindrical stone found naturally in the river called Narmada. The stones used in making a kriya lingam are classed as male, female & neutral stone. Stones will resonate if struck with the handle of the chisel in the lower scale of an octave.

The Lingam is to be made with this stone. The Yoni peetam with a female stone and the base made with a neutral stone. The scale of a temple Lingam will determine everything from the size of the chamber that houses it, to the Nandi, to size of steps, gopuram and ultimately the size the temple itself. Every dimension will happen to be a fraction or multiple of the Lingam.